Deep into that darkness peering, long I stood there, wondering, fearing, doubting, dreaming dreams no mortal ever dared to dream before. – Edgar Allan Poe

 Darkness is not a bad thing, regardless of what society may teach us.  Whether it be darkness of night or darkness of soul, darkness serves a purpose of balance. I have had to face much darkness this past year. Darkness of purpose in life,  darkness of meaning, darkness of hope. But interwoven in every one of these aspects of darkness was light which equally balanced the soulful tugging that occurred.

In my druid path I am taught that the polar perspective (i.e. good/bad, light/dark) is not so much the case. Life is a spectrum and to isolate it’s parts into a this or that perspective simplifies what is a very complex existence. One of the things my first Druid teacher Michael Gorman taught us was if you are ever asked an “or” question answer with yes!

I value the darkness because it gives me perspective and depth.

